History, Club Premierships & Places

South Melbourne Athletic Club was established in 1929, originally formed as South Melbourne Harriers.

More to come, but below is an article taken from ‘Record’ which you can find here.

Record (Emerald Hill, Vic. : 1881 – 1954), Saturday 28 November 1953, page 10


Pleasing Win by ‘C’ Grade Team

The ‘C’ Grade team defeated the strong Frankston team 64 to 54 points last Saturday. Outstanding performance was that of John Murray, who ran a fine mile to slash the record to 4 mins. 32.4 sees. The vastly improved Max Negri was only one yard behind in second place. This record had stood since 1934, and was held by Dave Burns. Ron Merriman, having his first start in the top grade) won the 100 yards in an excellent fashion in 10.8, with Gerald Quinn third. Wally Knott again won the walk in 7 mins. 56 sees. Stan Wisby was second in the 220 yds. hurdles, with Colin Crawford third, the time being 26.9 sees. In the 440-yards Stan Wisby was 2nd, with Laurie Adams 3rd; time, 55.4 sees. The relay team was again successful. The team was Gerald Quinn, Ron Merriman, John Murray and Stan Wisby, and the time was 48 sees. In ‘F’ Grade Rex Nash won the broad jump with 18 ft. 1£ ins., and Peter King easily won the walk. William Mitzi showed his best form to date to gain third place in the 440 yards. The mile was a great race, with Jim Crawford lasting just long enough to defeat Ernie King, with Rex Nash third. To-day the ‘C’ Grade team meets M.H.S.O.B., and ‘F’ Grade meets Mentone. To-morrow the first handicap will be held at 10.30 a.m.